For the first time in its history, the Hawaii ChamberPAC for a Stronger and Healthier Economy, the political action committee of the Chamber of Commerce Hawaii, announced the endorsement of 16 candidates in state and county races.

“COVID-19 has made it clear that Hawaii needs strong leadership and policy makers who understand that supporting local businesses is essential to the future of our state. We appreciate all candidates who participated in our endorsement process and shared their views on how to rebuild our economy,” Sherry Menor-McNamara, President & CEO, Chamber of Commerce Hawaii said. “These 16 candidates, who were selected because they are running in competitive races, committed to standing behind Hawaii’s local businesses as we continue to navigate uncertainty. I urge all Hawaii residents who love and support local businesses to vote for these leaders to move Hawaii forward.”

“Every day, elected officials make decisions that impact the future of my business and all of Hawaii’s local businesses,” Jason Higa, Chair,  Candidate Endorsement Process and CEO of FCH Enterprises (DBA Zippy’s) said. “The Hawaii ChamberPAC is endorsing these 16 candidates because of their commitment to Hawaii’s business community—which is more important now than ever. Local businesses will face more difficult decisions in the months ahead, but working side-by-side with these candidates, we can save Hawaii businesses.”

The Hawaii ChamberPAC selection process, race selection and subsequent endorsements were determined by a committee of business leaders. Criteria for endorsed candidates included those who were running in a competitive general election race and those who returned ChamberPAC questionnaires.

The Hawaii ChamberPAC endorses:

Hawaii State Senate

Endorsement Senate District
Gil Keith-Agaran District 5 (Wailuku, Waihee, Kahului)
Stanley Chang District 9 (Hawaii Kai, Kuliouou, Niu, Aina Haina, Waialae-Kahala, Diamond Head)
Bennette Misalucha District 16 (Pearl City, Momilani, Pearlridge, Aiea, Royal Summit, Aiea Heights, Newtown, Waimalu, Halawa, Pearl Harbor)
Kurt Fevella District 19 (Ewa Beach, Ocean Pointe, Ewa by Gentry, Iroquois Point, portion of Ewa Villages)
Donovan Dela Cruz District 22 (Mililani Mauka, Waipio Acres, Wheeler, Wahiawa, Whitmore Village, portion of Poamoho)


Hawaii State House

Endorsement House District
Mark Nakashima District 1 (Hamakua, North Hilo, South Hilo)
Lynn Decoite District 13 (Haiku, Hana, Kaupo, Kipahulu, Nahiku, Paia, Kahoolawe, Lanai, Molokai, Molokini)
James Tokioka District 15 (Wailua Homesteads, Hanamaulu, Lihue, Puhi, Old Koloa Town, Omao)
Jackson Sayama District 20 (Waikiki, Ala Moana)
Val Okimoto District 36 (Mililani Mauka, Mililani)
Ryan Yamane District 37 (Mililani, Waipio Gentry, Waikele)
Lauren Cheape Matsumoto District 45 (Schofield, Mokuleia, Waialua, Kunia, Waipio Acres, Mililani)
Scot Matayoshi District 49 (Kaneohe, Maunawili, Olomana)
Patrick Branco District 50 (Kailua, Kaneohe Bay)


Honolulu City Council


Endorsement Council District
Greg Thielen District 3 (Ahuimanu, Heeia, Haiku, Kaneohe, Maunawili, Kailua, Olomana, Enchanted Lake, and Waimanalo)
Jacob Aki District 7 (Kalihi, lwilei, Kalihi Kai, Mapunapuna, Salt Lake, Aliamanu, Hickam, Foster Village, Ford Island, and Sand Island)


The Hawaii ChamberPAC is a separate organization from the Chamber of Commerce Hawaii. No membership dues are applied towards the PAC and political expenditures.

The Hawaii Chamber Political Action Committee (ChamberPAC) was established to actively support state and local candidates who share the principals and priorities outlined in the Chamber’s Legislative Agenda. The PAC is an independent, autonomous organization that is not affiliated with any political party or candidate. The organization is non-partisan in its selection of candidates. ChamberPAC does not contribute to candidates based on their party affiliation or ideology. It contributes to those candidates who support issues and positions favorable to business and Hawaii’s economy. 

This is inserted at the bottom