David Okabe
Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer
Hawai’i Pacific Health

David Okabe began his career in 1985 by joining the public accounting firm, Ernst & Young, in the Honolulu Office.  In 1999 he left public accounting as a Senior Manager to join Kapi’olani Health and was promoted to Vice President and Treasurer in 2001 prior to the merger that created Hawaii Pacific Health and to Chief Financial Officer in 2004.  He currently oversees the organization’s finance, accounting, treasury, contracting and reimbursement, and supply chain management functions and has significant involvement working with the HPH Chief Executive Officer and Chief Strategy Officer on corporate strategy.  He also serves as the President of HPH Partners, HPH’s for-profit entity partnering with physicians and other health care providers.  He is also a board member of Providers Insurance Company, HPH’s captive insurance company, and a member of various HPH standing management committees, including the HPH Executive Team.  

Mr. Okabe holds a Bachelor of Arts in Business Administration from the University of Hawaii at Manoa and received his Certified Public Accountant certificate in 1991.  He is active in the Hawaii community currently serving as a Board and Executive Committee member of the Chamber of Commerce Hawaii (as Chair Elect), Diamond Head Theatre (as Past Board Chair) and the Hawaiian Humane Society (as Finance Committee Chair).   Mr. Okabe was inducted into the University of Hawaii’s Shidler College of Business Hall of Honor in October 2018 and serves as a member of the School of Accountancy Advisory Board.  He is involved with health care related organizations, serving as a member and Past Chair of the Healthcare Association of Hawaii’s CFO Roundtable as well as a member of the Health Management Academy’s CFO Fellowship Program Advisory Committee.  

Mr. Okabe is a member of the Hawaii Chapters of Financial Executives International and the Healthcare Financial Management Association, having served in past leadership roles for both organizations as well as the National Multiple Sclerosis Society.

This is inserted at the bottom